Table of Contents
Cataloging Check Set (.ccs) changes
In version 236, the format of the file that is used to save your cataloging check customizations has been changed slightly1). Your personal customization files, if you have any, are found in the 'Options' folder2), and have a file extension of '.ccs'.
In version 236, we changed the nature of the 'Enabled' field so that it could support more than two values. Prior to this change, the 'Enabled' field could be set to either 'Y' or 'N' (i.e., Yes, the check is enabled; or No, it is disabled). After this change, the Enabled field for each cataloging check can be set to: 'None', 'AACR and RDA', 'AACR only', or 'RDA Only'.
This change is required in the more diverse cataloging environment we are about to enter (i.e., an environment where the user is processing MARC21 files that contain both RDA and AACR2 records).
What has changed?
In version 235 and before, clicking 'Edit' beside the 'Current Set' under 'Cataloging Check Options', and clicking on an item in the ENABLED column, would display this:
We could then select 'Y' (Yes) to enable a cataloging check, and 'N' (No) to disable it.
In version 236, this display now looks like this:
The ENABLED column in version 236 supports a longer list of options:
- None - the check is disabled (equivalent to 'N' in 235)
- AACR and RDA - the check will run on any record (similar to 'Y' in 235)
- AACR only - the check runs only on AACR records (040 $e aacr, or no 040 $e) (new in 236)
- RDA only - the check runs only on RDA records (040 $e rda) (new in 236)
Thus, if a cataloging check is flagged 'AACR only', and the current record …
- contains 040 $e 'aacr' or does not contain 040 $e at all, the check will display
- contains 040 $e 'rda', the check will not display
Similarly, if a cataloging check is flagged 'RDA only', and the current record …
- contains 040 $e 'rda', the check will display
- contains 040 $e 'aacr' or does not contain 040 $e at all, the check will not display
Default Cataloging Checks
In version 236, the default cataloging checks work very differently, depending on how they are flagged under the 'Enabled for…' column of the Edit table:
None: means this message will not be displayed
AACR and RDA: means this 'shared' cataloging check message will appear whether a record follows RDA (040 $e rda) cataloging or AACR cataloging, (040 $e aacr or no 040 $e present); the message will also appear in records that follow neither RDA nor AACR conventions (040 $e is some other code)
AACR Only: means this message will only appear when a record is an AACR record (040 $e aacr or no 040 $e present)
RDA Only: means this message will only appear when a record is an RDA record (040 $e rda)
As always, at any time you may enter the Cataloging Check editor and customize any of the cataloging checks–both new and old–to run in a different manner than in the default set-up, but beware!! If you change RDA Only, AACR Only, or AACR and RDA to anything except 'None', you may get some very strange results. Note down any such changes that you make, so that you can reset the values to their defaults, if necessary, once of you have seen the result of your change.
Conversion to new format
In an Edit Session
In version 236, the validation module of the program will automatically convert .ccs files in the old format to the new format on-the-fly.
Thus, when you select a MARC file and start an edit session, existing customizations to the cataloging checks will be processed as follows:
- Checks marked 'N' (disabled) in 235 will become 'None' (disabled) in 236
- All other checks will be set to their new default values
If you are using shared sets, please view this note
In the Program Options
If you have customized cataloging check sets, then, the first time you visit the options in version 236, you should see a prompt like the following:
You should respond 'Yes' to this prompt. Once the format of the .ccs files has been updated, you should not see this prompt again.
Saving in the old format
If for some reason you need to save a set in the old format (perhaps because a colleague is using an older version), follow these steps:
- open the cataloging check editor
- select the set you wish to save
- right-click on the 'Save Set As' button
- press 'Save' in the ensuing dialog
The resulting file will be placed in the 'Filters' folder by default; you may then distribute it to wherever it is needed.
- Do not use this option to save the 'Default' set
- Do not save a set in the old format to your 'Options' folder